Steffie-Skincare-Secrets-Series Part 5 – Facial Toner

13346986_10153459186222610_5946216886469514867_n

What does a facial toner do?

Shrink Pores
Facial toners help to close pores and tighten cell gaps after cleansing. This helps to reduce dirt and environmental contamination from penetrating the skin.

Balance Skin’s pH
Our skin is naturally acidic while soaps are alkaline. After washing our face with soap or facial cleanser, our skin’s pH balance get disturbed and our skin will need to work hard to restore the pH balance. Using facial toner will help to restore the skin pH balance quickly, without our skin putting in extra work.

Moisturizes and Refreshes Skin
A good facial toner should contain natural humectants. They help attract moisture to the surface of the skin, but also deliver moisture and nutrients to the deeper layers, as well. This helps skin to keep itself hydrated on a regular basis. Young Living facial toner contains several natural humectants, like Glycerin and Aloe leaf juice
Always avoid skincare products with synthetic humectants. They pull moisture from deeper levels of skin without replenishing. Your skin surface will look more hydrated for a while, but long term usage causes your skin lose moisture.

Cleanse the skin
On occasions when you are unable to wash your skin, a facial toner can be used to cleanse your skin of oil and dirt. Even after you wash your face, its still ideal to use facial toner to cleanse your face to remove minerals and chlorine that’s in tap water and any residue from your facial cleanser.

How to use a facial toner?

Use facial toner after you wash your face with a gentle facial cleanser. Or when you did to clean your face but don’t have the luxury to wash it.

1. Apply a small amount to a cotton ball or cotton pad, and wiping your face with it

2. Apply a small amount on your hands and pat all over your face

3. Use a spray bottle to spray a small amount on your face, then pat all over your face.

Testimonials from my team of lovely ladies on the Young Living Facial Toner

Michelle
I love how my skin glows after using this toner. I have the tendency to have eczema outbreak along my hairline. However, this toner helps to reduce and resolve the inflammation on my hairline. Now I no longer feel any itch or dryness along my hairline.

Claire
Toner is not too drying for the face. I found it actually helped moisten the face to aid in the absorption of any other cream applied after it. Smells heavenly!, I can even use it as a very light moisturizer because helped nourish my skin feeling nice and plumped!. I usually use the toner 2x a day, morning and night and it always lifted off dirt or dust accumulated during the day.

Kai Ling
Very interesting feeling, I feel like I’m wiping my face with alcohol swap due to the smell and the hotness. The first few times after I apply the toner, I will feel hot at my face but only for few seconds, most probably is due to the peppermint in the toner. This toner makes my skin feel good and doesn’t have the tightening feel and have the refreshing feel. It helps to clear the residual dirt which not washed away by the facial foam. I can see the stain from the residual dirt on the facial cotton.

Yan Juan
The toner has a little bit of peppermint smell. It’s a very light smell and smells nice as well. It’s absorbed into my face pretty fast and not much of the ‘sticky ‘ feel like other toners.

Other than using Young Living Facial Toner, I also make my own facial toner using a few simple ingredients. I’ve find this to work very well for my dry skin and its very cost effective.

DIY Facial Toner Recipe
– 50ml unscented Witch Hazel
– 50ml distilled water
– 4 drops each of Rose Essential oil, Frankincense Essential Oil and Lavender Essential Oil

Mixed all together in a glass container and shake before using. You can change the essential oils in the DIY facial toner accordingly to your skin type.

#essentialwellness #steffieluvYL #steffieskincare

___________________
If you like to get in touch with me, please drop me an email at mailsteffie@yahoo.com.sg or sign up here to purchase Young Living essential oils.

Leave a comment